Hacker Newsnew | past | comments | ask | show | jobs | submitlogin

So you shutdown the VM due to what appears to be a compromise. That is typical host behavior at least.

Locking the user out of their account seems...odd, tho. I've never had that happen, personally, at any host.



Maybe Ben can explain what "locking" an account is actually is. If the customer did, in fact, break the TOS, I think it's logical to lock his account.


Locking the account should put it in a read-only mode. No changes to your DNS, no ability to start the droplet back up, firewall rules put in place at the hypervisor/network layer that block outbound traffic, but still allows you inbound access.


That would be ideal. Its sounds like it was more than preventing changes to the account information tho.




Guidelines | FAQ | Lists | API | Security | Legal | Apply to YC | Contact

Search: